Apr 04, 2023 12:00 PM
Rotary District Governor Dan Steele
Dan was born in Graham, Texas and grew up on his family's  cattle ranch. He was active in 4-H showing steers, heifers and goats. He and his family were active members of the First United Methodist Church where he participated in the youth group and sang in the Chancel Choir. In high school he was a member of the Band, including Jazz Stage Band  which was a favorite activity of his. He also participated in school musicals and the thespian group. He served as president of the Student Council in his senior year. He returned to Graham in January 1975 and took a position with Graham Savings & Loan Association.  The Rotary Club of Graham immediately recruited him to be a member and to sing in their "Rotary Follies" variety show fundraiser. He was a member of the Graham club through 1983. 
In 1984 he began his new career as an optician and practice administrator for his wife's optometry practice, Cary S. Labbe, O.D. in Mineral Wells, Texas. In March of 1991, he joined the Rotary Club of Mineral Wells and in 1993 became secretary for the club. He was selected as president-elect for 1994-95 and president for 1995-96.  He has since served as Foundation Chair for several years and the Treasurer since March 2000. PDG Jerry Parr presented him the Rotary Builder Award for his club in 2008. He became a Paul Harris Fellow June 1995 and remain a Sustaining Member.  He reached the Major Donor Level in March 2014 and joined the Paul Harris Society in August 2014. He continues to be an active member and treasurer of the Rotary Club of Mineral Wells. 
In District 5790 he served as Assistant Governor for four years, then as Lieutenant Governor for the West Area in 2016-17. He completed the Rotary Institute for Leadership training in February 2009 and the District Vision Facilitation Training in June 2016.  He participated in the Wheelchair Projects to the Dominican Republic in 2014 and Costa Rica in 2016. He has attended Rotary International Conventions in Chicago, Salt Lake City, New Orleans and Birmingham, England. He currently serves District 5790 as the District Grants Chair.